Retrieve Device Name as set in Interface

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
Post Reply
crvchul
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Jun 2013 15:41

Retrieve Device Name as set in Interface

Post by crvchul »

Hello,

Whats the correct way of getting the device name as it is set in the Webinterface e.g in the Device Status list? Command class NodeNaming doesn't seem to work because

zway.devices[2].instances[0].NodeNaming.data.nodename.value;

for example returns "Cannot read property 'data' of undefined". But

zway.devices[2].instances[0].SwitchBinary.data.level.value

for example works without problems.
pz1
Posts: 2053
Joined: 08 Apr 2012 13:44

For me that call

Post by pz1 »

For me that call
zway.devices[N].instances[0].NodeNaming.data.nodename.value; (copied this straight from my s/w)
works for the devices that are capable of setting the device name (see under Expert Commands for your devices.
Similarly for location
zway.devices[N].instances[0].NodeNaming.data.location.value;
Since 29-12-2016 I am no longer a moderator for this forum
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7571
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

May be your device does not

Post by PoltoS »

May be your device does not support NodeNaming CC. Our UI use a Rules.xml file to store names. This will change in the next UI, so please be prepared to this.
hpd
Posts: 36
Joined: 20 Mar 2014 12:03

Re: Retrieve Device Name as set in Interface

Post by hpd »

@Poltos or Community
I am as well looking for a way to get the NodeNames from ZWay via http. Have you changed Software in the meantime as announced last Year? Any Idea about how Zway does/could propagate NodeNames via http?
Z-Way 2.0.0-final on Raspberry Pi
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7571
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Retrieve Device Name as set in Interface

Post by PoltoS »

We have changed it as promised. The s/w is under development now. There is a way to get widgets name via http (not nodes anymore, since one Z-Wave node can lead to many widgets).
hpd
Posts: 36
Joined: 20 Mar 2014 12:03

Re: Retrieve Device Name as set in Interface

Post by hpd »

.... and how can I achieve to this? I am currently using the latest development clone of your automation engine.
Z-Way 2.0.0-final on Raspberry Pi
pz1
Posts: 2053
Joined: 08 Apr 2012 13:44

Re: Retrieve Device Name as set in Interface

Post by pz1 »

PoltoS wrote:We have changed it as promised. The s/w is under development now. There is a way to get widgets name via http (not nodes anymore, since one Z-Wave node can lead to many widgets).
Please stick to consistent terminology. Imho mixed use of "widget" and "virtual device" is confusing. If I understand this correctly a real world device (node in your terms) will be seen as 1 or several virtual devices in the new s/w.

It would be good if the core notions of this new global design gets described in the manuals. Has it been documented already somewhere?
Since 29-12-2016 I am no longer a moderator for this forum
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7571
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Retrieve Device Name as set in Interface

Post by PoltoS »

A bit on the forum. We have started to redesign one part from scratch again, this caused a new delay. Still we have a hope to end up with something releasable soon...
Post Reply