[Android] Habitat - Open Beta test

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
fez
Posts: 71
Joined: 20 Jul 2015 23:03

Re: [Android] Habitat - Open Beta test

Post by fez » 06 Jan 2018 12:07

The Heating Control App generates a more complex UI element. Looks like this.
There are 4 controls buttons embedded and "rooms" button popping up an extra window with additional controls.
The icon (color) is changed depending on the current settings.

The new z.wave.me app displays it, but there the control buttons are also missing.
From this point of view I liked the old a z-wave.me app, because it displayed the same html content as through browser (but login is not properly done in the background, is slow, etc) .
I guess it's not easy to get this right.

Aegis
Posts: 30
Joined: 04 Jan 2017 22:26

Re: [Android] Habitat - Open Beta test

Post by Aegis » 06 Jan 2018 14:15

Interesting!

I'll look into it.

Turns out that custom icons are a lot more complex than I assumed. I'd have to design some sort of mapper to correctly associate the device state with the correct icon.

I've created a landscape layout for the dashboard though! :)

Provo
Posts: 87
Joined: 19 Oct 2016 19:54

Re: [Android] Habitat - Open Beta test

Post by Provo » 11 Jan 2018 18:22

There is a slight inconvenience/annoyance with the GUI. When showing the device list in a room, the edit-button in the bottom right corner is covering the value of the bottom device. Considering that editing a room description is something one does very rarely, perhaps it would be better to remove that button and put that functionality elsewhere?

Aegis
Posts: 30
Joined: 04 Jan 2017 22:26

Re: [Android] Habitat - Open Beta test

Post by Aegis » 12 Jan 2018 00:21

Provo wrote:
11 Jan 2018 18:22
There is a slight inconvenience/annoyance with the GUI. When showing the device list in a room, the edit-button in the bottom right corner is covering the value of the bottom device. Considering that editing a room description is something one does very rarely, perhaps it would be better to remove that button and put that functionality elsewhere?
Good find! Ill figure out somewhere else to put the edit button. Thanks :)

Post Reply