Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
jadedeane
Posts: 35
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 23:14

Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by jadedeane » 06 Dec 2018 00:04

Tried adding a Leviton DZPA1, and now a Honeywell (Jasco) ZW4103, and they're both failing (instantly):

[2018-12-05 13:00:54.827] [zway] Adding job: Add/re-include node to network
[2018-12-05 13:00:54.831] [D] [zway] SENDING (cb 0xeb): ( 01 05 00 4A C1 EB 9A )
[2018-12-05 13:00:54.832] [D] [zway] RECEIVED ACK
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.176] [D] [zway] RECEIVED: ( 01 07 00 4A EB 07 00 00 5E )
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.177] [D] [zway] SENT ACK
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.177] [zway] Job 0x4a (Add/re-include node to network): Failed
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.178] [D] [zway] Job 0x4a (Add/re-include node to network): fail
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.178] [zway] Removing job: Add/re-include node to network
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.178] [D] [zway] SETDATA controller.data.controllerState = 0 (0x00000000)
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.178] [zway] Adding job: Add/re-include node to network
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.179] [D] [zway] SENDING (cb 0x00): ( 01 05 00 4A 05 00 B5 )
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.180] [D] [zway] RECEIVED ACK
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.180] [zway] Job 0x4a (Add/re-include node to network): Stop done
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.181] [D] [zway] Job 0x4a (Add/re-include node to network): success
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.181] [zway] Removing job: Add/re-include node to network
[2018-12-05 13:00:59.181] [D] [zway] SETDATA controller.data.controllerState = 0 (0x00000000)

What's interesting, is they will both successfully exclude, but include never works.

Running 2.3.8, with UZB firmware 5.27. Did recently upgrade from Jessie to Stretch, but did reinstall Z-Way.

All existing Z-Wave devices working perfectly.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Last edited by jadedeane on 08 Dec 2018 00:47, edited 2 times in total.

jadedeane
Posts: 35
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 23:14

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by jadedeane » 06 Dec 2018 19:40

Looked at this some more, and I noticed the instant fail was occurring before I even walked over to trigger the device's inclusion button.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4334
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by PoltoS » 08 Dec 2018 23:21

The firmware (SDK part) returned a failure. This can be because your controller is not primary and primary is not answering. Or because the chip is busy.

Try to Reset API (reboot the RaZberry board)

jadedeane
Posts: 35
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 23:14

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by jadedeane » 08 Dec 2018 23:37

Thanks for your reply.

Controller is primary, and only controller.

Reset API via /expert/network/control, and have reboot the Raspberry Pi. Same issue.

To reiterate my initial post, all existing devices are controllable, and work perfectly. Seems only inclusion is broken (exclusion works fine).

Z-Way 2.3.8, UZB firmware 5.27, SDK 6.71.01.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4334
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by PoltoS » 08 Dec 2018 23:40

This is weird. Please show Controller Info tab.

As a last resort you can try to make a backup, reset to factory default and r store the backup

jadedeane
Posts: 35
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 23:14

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by jadedeane » 08 Dec 2018 23:44

Here's a screenshot:

https://imgur.com/a/a8oJ128

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4334
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by PoltoS » 08 Dec 2018 23:47

Quality is bad, but what is your homeID?

And how many devices have you included previously and when it stopped to work?

jadedeane
Posts: 35
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 23:14

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by jadedeane » 08 Dec 2018 23:50

20 devices presently active, ~60 previously (old house, moved a few months ago), last device id added was 116.

License appears to be valid/active. Had wondered if that might have been an issue over upgrades.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4334
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by PoltoS » 08 Dec 2018 23:51

Strange. Should work. May be backup/restore can heal it. No idea yet.

jadedeane
Posts: 35
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 23:14

Re: Inability to include any new Z-Wave device

Post by jadedeane » 08 Dec 2018 23:58

Did a backup, factory reset, attempted to restore via the ZBK file, logging messages show devices with lots of "empty", and now no devices.

I would say things are... worse.

Post Reply