Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
ebaugh
Posts: 8
Joined: 17 Feb 2017 08:39

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by ebaugh » 23 Feb 2017 00:29

Thanks for the update. Any idea when the update will be available?

DavidL
Posts: 9
Joined: 01 Feb 2017 22:02

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by DavidL » 23 Feb 2017 18:10

Nope, their response was very short. No ETA. Said prior version could be used for now.

ebaugh
Posts: 8
Joined: 17 Feb 2017 08:39

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by ebaugh » 24 Feb 2017 23:18

How do you get the previous version?
Is there a simple way to downgrade?

DavidL
Posts: 9
Joined: 01 Feb 2017 22:02

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by DavidL » 01 May 2017 01:45

Has anyone checked if two Raz can be a primary and then a secondary controller with latest update? I didn't see the fix specifically called out.

I did upgrade but haven't tried yet.
Thanx

simonc
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Aug 2015 18:43

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by simonc » 23 Aug 2017 22:42

any news?

hp1
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Jun 2015 07:00

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by hp1 » 24 Aug 2017 00:26

I kinda have this working. I have 2 devices a 2.0.0 that is primary and a 2.3.5. I went into inclusion mode on 2.0.0 and then on 2.3.5 enter network. the secondary controller seemed to be added, and I can control all the devices from the secondary node. The problem I see now is that the primary and secondary are not sychronized with changes. So I can turn on a light with the primary, and the secondary doesn't see the state change until I go into the secondary and then hit 'update'. I made a post on this in the 'discussions in English' section.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4348
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by PoltoS » 24 Aug 2017 04:11

This is because most of devices can host only one device in their LifeLine association group (in which all updates are sent)

hp1
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Jun 2015 07:00

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by hp1 » 26 Aug 2017 20:34

That makes sense. My leviton fan and kwikset lock allow for multiple associations in group 1, so I added those and they update properly. My ZRTSI and Bali blinds just show "Can not configure associations: groups were not reported by the device. Do interview." However they interviewed properly, so I can control them from the secondary, just don't get updates.

Is there any way to promote a secondary to a primary and move the lifelines? I put the raspberry pi 3 / razberry2 in the same location as the raz1, and with the longer range I can access the blinds that I couldn't access before.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4348
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by PoltoS » 27 Aug 2017 00:44

Do you want to migrate from old RaZ to a new one? The easiest way is:
1) Make a backup of the old (in Expert UI) and copy the full folder of 2.0.0 to the new box.
2) Turn off the old one (keep it as your backup during the process of migration)
3) Run the new box with the 2.0.0 (erase 2.3.5 and replace with the content of the old 2.0.0)
4) Update the server to v2.3.5
5) Resore the backup (with network topology) in the new one (in Expert UI).
6) Do network topology update and do re-interview of all devices.

After this it should work.

hp1
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Jun 2015 07:00

Re: Raz as a Secondary Controller - setup?

Post by hp1 » 27 Aug 2017 18:44

Thanks PoltoS!

Just to be clear.
1. So use the web interface to make a backup of the primary 2.0.0 setup.
2. On the secondary, erase the current 2.3.5, probably by just deleting /opt/z-way-server
3. Then copy /opt/z-way-server from the primary to the secondary.
4. boot up the secondary, it should be 2.0.0 and the primary controller.
5. update to 2.3.5
6. restore the backup from the web interface in step 1.
7. Do a network topology update and re-interview everything.

Is that correct? I'd also assume a good step before step 1 would be to exclude the secondary controller before the backup since it won't exist after the change. Correct?

Post Reply