POST Z-Way device status to another server (webpage)

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
Deidad292
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Nov 2016 21:42

POST Z-Way device status to another server (webpage)

Post by Deidad292 » 05 Jun 2017 01:10

Hello everyone, I have a problem and I was wondering if maybe some of you could help me, as I am more or less new in the programming and Z-Wave world.

I am trying to create a webpage, hosted in an Apache server (with PHP and mySQL) on the Raspberry, where I can see the values of my Fibaro Flood Sensor, more or less like an interface. Following an old post on this forum and Mr. Hekkers blog, I am currently executing a .js file in my z-way-server with the following code:

Code: Select all

var callback = function(type,arg) {
 try {
   var options = {};
   // timestamp
   var ts = (new Date()).getTime();
   ts = Math.floor(ts/1000).toString();
   // query local ZWave API
   options.url = "http://192.168.1.50:8083/ZWaveAPI/Run/devices[2].instances[0].commandClasses[156].data[5].sensorState.value"+ts; //sensor value
   options.method = "GET";
   var res = http.request(options);
   // send response to webpage
   options.url = "http://192.168.1.50:80";   // my Apache server on the Raspberry
   options.method = "POST";
   options.data = JSON.stringify(res);
   res = http.request(options);
 } catch(err) {
   debugPrint("Failed to upload device state changes to webpage: " + err);
 }
};

for (var dv in zway.devices) {
 var dv = zway.devices[dv];
 dv.data.bind(callback, null, true);
}
On my server I have a php file which supposedly recieves the POST with the sensor value, but I can't make it work and I do not see anything o my page. Is there any way I can check if this script is making the GET and POST request correctly? How can I recieve the POST request with the sensor info on my webpage?

Any info would be really appreciated, as I am really blocked right now.
Thank you very much and sorry if this is not the correct place to ask.

EDITED to add code tags :D
Last edited by Deidad292 on 05 Jun 2017 23:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 3739
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: POST Z-Way device status to another server (webpage)

Post by PoltoS » 05 Jun 2017 11:42

Sending commands from Z-Way to Z-Way is a bad idea (I assume 192.168.1.50:8083 is Z-Way itself). Beside this your code looks ok. If you use red = http.request(...), add options.async: false;

I would also suggest to search for http.request example through modules and start with a working example.

Deidad292
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Nov 2016 21:42

Re: POST Z-Way device status to another server (webpage)

Post by Deidad292 » 05 Jun 2017 15:59

Thank you for your quick answer, I will look for examples.

Yes, what I am trying to do is use a GET method to take the sensor value each time something changes, for this I use the ZWaveAPi in the GET method and then POST it to my webpage. You mentioned this is a bad idea, in which other ways could I accomplish this? Thank you very much.

EDIT: Also, I am getting a weird connection error. Each time the state of the sensor changes (for example, I force the water alarm to switch ON), I lost connectiong temporarily with port 8083 (for example, in http://192.168.1.50:8083/smarthome/ or using the ZWave API). If I restart the server (sudo service z-way-server restart) i get this error:

[E] [core] result: Error: Error: Uncaught Error: Failed to bind to 8083
at Error (native)
at automation/main.js:73:5

Any idea what can be happening here? Used to go well before I started messing with the .js.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 3739
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: POST Z-Way device status to another server (webpage)

Post by PoltoS » 05 Jun 2017 20:43

Bind problem is because another instance is using port 8083.

If you do server side code, don't use ZWaveAPI via HTTP, but use JS API.execute the code you place after /Run/

Deidad292
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Nov 2016 21:42

Re: POST Z-Way device status to another server (webpage)

Post by Deidad292 » 05 Jun 2017 23:39

Thank you again for your answer. Ther was no more instances using port 8083, so I figured that mi own .js function should be the one causing the bind problem, because without it everything worked fine.

To solve this, I have changed the code to:

Code: Select all

//Bindings for value changes
console.log('###########CHECK 1############');
zway.devices[2].instances[0].commandClasses[156].data[5].sensorState.bind(function(){ //Binds event
                if(this.value){ //Notification is sensor is ON (255)
                console.log('###########CHECK 2############'+this.value);
                        try { //here begins the code for sending
                                var options = {};
                                options.method = "POST";
                                options.async = false;

                                // send data to server
                                options.url = "http://192.168.1.50:80/index.php";
                                options.method = "POST";
                                options.async = false;
                                options.data = "sensor_level='"+this.value+"'";  //this can be accessed in the index.php by $_POST['sensor_level']
                                var res = http.request(options);
                                console.log('###########CHECK 3############');
                        } catch(err) { // here is the code to display the error in the console server log if something is wrong
                                debugPrint("Failed to send data: " + err);
                        }
                }
});

Using the information of this post: https://forum.z-wave.me/viewtopic.php?f=3422&t=21443

This solved the port 8083 problem. I put those CHECK to see if all the code was executed correctly, and they appear on the log so everything should be working. Still, I cannot get any value to show on my index.php page when using $_POST['sensor_level']. How can I know if the POST is being sent?

I will also try to use a GET method as before, but this time with the JS API instead of the ZWaveAPI.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 3739
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: POST Z-Way device status to another server (webpage)

Post by PoltoS » 06 Jun 2017 00:05

it is worth to check for content-type used. You can also use tcpdump/wireshark to see what was actually transmitted to your page and was the encoding same us you expect.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 3 guests