Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Discussions about existing Z-Wave device and their usage with Z-Way/Z-Cloud/Z-Box
dacwe
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Jan 2016 02:52

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by dacwe » 23 Mar 2016 11:17

Can we help some how?

benis
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Apr 2016 16:07
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by benis » 15 Apr 2016 16:20

For me I manage to connect my Dimmer 2 after bypassing the not completed interviews. I can set the dim level within the z-wave.me interface but it is buggy as hell (I guess it got to do with the dimmer feeding back when I start typing a number), you can see in this video what I mean:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/828 ... immer2.mov

Have any one the same issue (of you who manage to connect the dimmer 2 to your Razberry?

uchuff
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Jul 2015 14:19

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by uchuff » 20 Apr 2016 14:10

Hi all,
I have just received a box containing 3 of these dimmers, now having read this thread wondering if I should just send them back unopened.

I intended to use:

- One with a local load, plus a second switch controlling a TKB socket via association

- One with a local load controlled both by the local switch but primarily by an association on an Aeon Labs motion sensor

- One headless (i.e no switch) with local load controlled exclusively by an association on the same motion sensor

The first of those is a new install, the other two are replacing original (I.e not model "2") Fibaro dimmers which I'm then repurposing elsewhere - figured I'd switch as the above are LED loads and I'll move the original dimmers to a new spot with Halogens that need Z-waveing.

To anyone that has tried the new "2" dimmers, do you think the above is feasible with the current state, or should I send them back? I'm somewhat limited due to 2 wire install.

Many thanks in advance for any input.

uchuff
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Jul 2015 14:19

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by uchuff » 25 Apr 2016 12:58

Reading back through the thread, it seems like that might work, but only until the device is rebooted for some reason, at which point it will need to be associated again. Is that a fair summary?

Thanks again.

ridewithstyle
Posts: 43
Joined: 02 Jan 2016 01:20

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by ridewithstyle » 30 Apr 2016 22:51

benis wrote:For me I manage to connect my Dimmer 2 after bypassing the not completed interviews. I can set the dim level within the z-wave.me interface but it is buggy as hell (I guess it got to do with the dimmer feeding back when I start typing a number), you can see in this video what I mean:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/828 ... immer2.mov

Have any one the same issue (of you who manage to connect the dimmer 2 to your Razberry?
Hi there!

that is something, that I experience with every dimmer and every roller shutter 2, so it's not isolated problem with the dimmer. It happens on my smartphone, tablet, Windows PC (Firefox, Chrome) and Linux PC. So I guess it's fair to say, it's either a problem with the software or the devices.

ridewithstyle
Posts: 43
Joined: 02 Jan 2016 01:20

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by ridewithstyle » 30 Apr 2016 22:53

uchuff wrote:Reading back through the thread, it seems like that might work, but only until the device is rebooted for some reason, at which point it will need to be associated again. Is that a fair summary?

Thanks again.
No, it's not. My interview with the dimmer is still incomplete, yet I use it without any problems. Only the expert GUI keeps complaining that the interview is incomplete.

I'd buy it again, as it works, even with incomplete interview. The Aeon Labs dimmer was included perfectly, yet couldn't dim my LED lights.

Regards,
rws

karel007
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Nov 2015 18:36

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by karel007 » 22 May 2016 18:43

Hello,
just quick update related to my 5 month old post, that i'm going to test FDG 212 with Z-Stick 2E usb controller.
My setup is Z-Stick connected to one of the USB ports of razberry. I stopped z-wave-server and installed Domoticz. I associated dimmer with Z-Stick using Domoticz and it worked without any visible errors.

Pity we are talking already 5th month about partial support of FDG212 in z-wave controller and nothing has changed.

jeey
Posts: 12
Joined: 06 Mar 2016 06:44

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by jeey » 07 Jul 2016 18:21

PoltoS any update to this issue.
Can make the dimmer work fine, but would like have it finish the interview.

Modules with firmware 3.3 still have issues.

the biggest issues is that i cant set assosiations, tried the tip from geirgp (viewtopic.php?f=3423&t=22454#p60056).
But didn´t help.

fez
Posts: 59
Joined: 20 Jul 2015 23:03

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by fez » 01 Aug 2016 01:31

I have 2 Fibaro 2 dimmers. I could include them, although the interview never completed. Actually the dimmers have different missing interview points, but still I could use them just fine with Zway 2.2.1. I could completely set them up in the expert mode, associate and all.
I upgraded recently to 2.2.3 and both started to behave erratically. I downgraded to 2.2.1 and all was fine again.
In 2.2.3 I couldn't use the expert mode either for these 2 devices.
Although the new zway version semms to be a good upgrade, somehow it can't get along with the fibaro dimmers. I had no time to debug it, so I'm not sure who to blame, I'll just had to switch back to 2.2.1.

uchuff
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Jul 2015 14:19

Re: Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FDG)-212 Fully supported

Post by uchuff » 30 Aug 2016 23:12

I think I managed to get the associations working ok with a couple of Fibaro Dimmer 2's.

There are a few different lights in our lounge/diner, one set was controlled by a traditional dimmer one end and the other by a traditional dimmer at the other end. I have replaced the traditional dimmers with Fibaro Dimmer 2's, each still controlling their local load with Switch 1, with Switch 2 on each associated with instance 0 on the other dimmer, that way I can now control both set of lights from either end of the room.

Early days but I hope this sticks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests