Hydronic header control with Z-Uno

Discussion about Z-Uno product. Visit http://z-uno.z-wave.me for more details.
ausip

Hydronic header control with Z-Uno

Post by ausip »

Hi Z-Uno users

I have a project where I want to use a Z-Uno to control 10 relays for hydronic under floor heating control. I need to actuate 10 x 24VDC actuators via relays. 5 or 10 Z-Wave switches or relay controls will be extremely expensive. Thanks to Z-Uno, I should be able to come up with a much more cost effective solution.

I am new to Z-Uno and Z-Wave for that matter. To begin with I am looking for a breakout board & DIN rail enclosure or mount to mount my Z-Uno.

I am looking something like this to for the relay module (I know this one is only 8 relays, but there is also a similar dual relay board)
https://www.amazon.com/ELECTRONICS-SALO ... B00M1MC3ZU

Any advice would be appreciated.
DaveDotNet

Re: Hydronic header control with Z-Uno

Post by DaveDotNet »

I’ve been through similar thought processes. I have underfloor water based heating system with an 8port manifold downstairs and a similar one upstairs. Each port is connected to the respective room’s thermostat through a wiring centre. When the room thermostat triggers it not only activates the valve it also issues a command to the boiler and pump to fire up.

My system is made by Heatmiser and they have a protoco that runs on an RS485 bus that communicates with everything. Primitive but foolproof.

It’s not clear what you would want controlling the relays but I would imagine it would be thermostats. I would also imagine you need to fire up the pump and boiler when at least one valve is opened.