Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
brianaker
Posts: 26
Joined: 11 Nov 2016 16:57

Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler

Post by brianaker » 12 Sep 2018 10:16

Starting with the 5.32 firmware I have started to seeing the following error in my logs:

[E] [zway] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)

Any ideas?

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4334
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler

Post by PoltoS » 14 Sep 2018 11:38

We need more log output from above this line.

brianaker
Posts: 26
Joined: 11 Nov 2016 16:57

Re: Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler

Post by brianaker » 15 Sep 2018 01:29

Here is one:

[2018-09-14 08:20:09.808] [D] [zway] RECEIVED: ( 01 0B 00 04 00 B9 03 31 05 04 A8 00 D2 )
[2018-09-14 08:20:09.808] [D] [zway] SENT ACK
[2018-09-14 08:20:09.808] [D] [zway] SETDATA devices.185.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2018-09-14 08:20:09.808] [E] [zway] Packet CC::SENSOR_MULTILEVEL_REPORT is too short: required at least 5 bytes, got 3
[2018-09-14 08:20:09.808] [E] [zway] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)


Another:

[2018-09-14 13:00:17.075] [D] [zway] SETDATA devices.79.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2018-09-14 13:00:17.075] [E] [zway] Node 79:0 CC CRC16: Packet CRC error (expected 0x67a8, got 0x6728)
[2018-09-14 13:00:17.076] [E] [zway] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)


Quite a few more CRC errors. Looking back at logs before the firmware upgrade, these errors were not common. The CRC errors come from GE switches and the multi sensor is an Aeotec Smart Switch ( I have wondered before about the Aeotec though ).

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4334
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler

Post by PoltoS » 15 Sep 2018 20:31

This looks like errors in radio - poor radio quality leads to errors and in some cases it leads to CRC mismatch, while in others to wrong parsing

brianaker
Posts: 26
Joined: 11 Nov 2016 16:57

Re: Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler

Post by brianaker » 16 Sep 2018 00:18

Are you saying there is something wrong with the radio physically or that it a location issue?

Here are some more.
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.029] [E] [zway] Packet CC::MANUFACTURER_SPECIFIC_REPORT is too short: required at least 8 bytes, got 3
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.029] [E] [zway] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.040] [zway] Node 117:0 CC Version: AssociationGroupInformation is v1
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.082] [zway] Node 117:0 CC Version: AssociationGroupInformation is v1
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.093] [E] [zway] Packet CC::MANUFACTURER_SPECIFIC_REPORT is too short: required at least 8 bytes, got 3
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.093] [E] [zway] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.112] [zway] Node 117:0 CC Version: AssociationGroupInformation is v1
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.175] [E] [zway] Packet CC::MANUFACTURER_SPECIFIC_REPORT is too short: required at least 8 bytes, got 3
[2018-09-15 14:05:11.175] [E] [zway] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4334
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler

Post by PoltoS » 16 Sep 2018 08:41

You have a lot of RF errors (unless you do something else strange). Either it is RF noise (Background noise in the Expert UI) or this is a firmware error - downgrade back and check

Post Reply