helpful tips.

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
Dajazzz
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Dec 2017 15:47

helpful tips.

Post by Dajazzz » 07 Dec 2018 13:33

Im really thinking i made a mistake with purchasing the Razberry as the support is close to none, but i still want to give it one final last try to share my findings and hopefully get other new Z-way users started, and find more helpful notes.

This post is intended to get you up and running with Razberry from the absolute beginning and I try to tell every step and keep it updated, (If I notice there is actually any interest.)

1 getting started.

What you need to get z-way running?
- Raspberry Pi
- Razzberry Z-way module
- 16gb SD card or bigger
- windows pc to download software and format SD card
- internet connection

Download Rasbian Stretch with GUI
https://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/raspbian/

format the SD card with
https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_4/

Download and install Win32DiskImager to get the image raspbian stretch-full image on the SD card.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/

Insert the SD card in your RPI3, connect a keyboard, mouse and monitor. Finely power the RPI3 up with a good power supply (preferably the original Raspberry one, as phone charges do a very poor job. Like any computer, simply pulling the plug on your Pi can have dire consequences; but unlike most computers, the Raspberry Pi does not have a native power button. The following commands should be used to safely shut down or reboot your Pi. Obviously, these commands should be run from the command line.

Boot-Up Self-Test
When powered up, the two LEDs on the RazBerry module light up, indicating that the self-testing has started. After about two seconds, they are supposed to go off indicating that that self-testing has been passed successfully. If they remain lit, this is a clear indication that the self-test failed or the device is not booting up. You will need to replace the hardware in such a case.

Now the "Welcome to Raspberry P" should be guiding you.

Set your password, internet connection and download updates.
:?: How to set English language for Rasbian but have location to a non English speaking country?
Reboot.

enable SSH and VNC preferences / interfaces
update APT sudo apt-get update
install updates sudo apt-get upgrade
install razberry wave wget -q -O - razberry.z-wave.me/install | sudo bash
when done, “thank you for using RaZberry!” scroll up and write down your user ID and Password:

it should look something like this:

12999/admin
D9feja(hadke4

reboot sudo reboot
WAIT 5 MIN

Open browser and go to 127.0.0.1:8083
It should now say Welcome to your smart home.

i recommend to add a simple usb drive to your RPI3, follow instructions on how to do this:
https://www.raspberrypi-spy.co.uk/2014/ ... pberry-pi/

Add new devices, but make sure they are within 5cm of the RaZberry and have your device powered by usb instead of battery, so you wont have the problem that the device goes to sleep and you will fail the mating.

For the Aeotec Multisensors change the parameters according https://aeotec.freshdesk.com/support/so ... r-6-zw100-

USB Power
• Always awake, this allows for easy configuration of this device
• Allows for faster sensor reports
• Can be used as a repeater node

Parameter Settings Change Recommendations:
• Parameter 101 [4 byte]: 240 (report Light, Humidity, Temperature, and UV)
• Parameter 111 [4 byte]: 30 (report every 30 seconds)
• Parameter 40 [1 byte]: 1 (enable selective reporting, automatically updates reports when passing a threshold)

To shutdown:
sudo shutdown

To reboot:
sudo reboot

It never hurts to enter a simple "sync" command before doing anything to the system like installing more software or powering off. It ensures that any changes or information in process are written to disk and not lost. I always startup in console, and have put "sync" into my .bashrc to be on the safe side and make sure it happens even if I forget. And there always is something needing completion that the "sync" command takes care of, unless I have just entered it moments ago. Remember that the system is often writing to log files, and if you poweroff, pull the plug, or install new software when those other changes or log entries have not been written to disk, you could get some file corruption.

Note this is not the same as syncing with a package repository.


:?: Q: do 433.92MHz devices work. A: No.
on the webpage is written:
Z-Way is a complete Smart Home Controller Software supporting Z-Wave but other technologies such as EnOcean, WIFI, 433 MHz as well. It runs on a broad variety of hardwares such as Raspberry Pi, Windows, Ubuntu, Debian, etc. To use the Z-Wave functions a Z-WaveMe hardware such as UZB or RaZberry is needed (*). It consists of various building blocks that can be used together or separate:

In the z-way manual i found:
9.2.2 433 MHz Gateway
In order to support 433 MHz devices special gateways are required. Z-Way™ has built-in support for the 433 MHz
gateway from Popp. Figure 9.5 shows this gateway hardware. The device is powered by an external standardized mini
USB port and can be connected ot USB wall outlets, mini USB power supplies, etc.
Once configured and connected to the Z-Way™ System, this gateway allows to learn dierent code sets of dierent
manufacturers. It can therefore be used universally for all kinds of 433 MHz devices from dierent manufacturers
even if there is no detailed technical description of the code set used.
Z-Way™ can support multiple Popp 433 MHz gateways when one single gateway cannot cover the whole home. The
Popp 433 MHz hub is connected to Z-Way™ using Wi-Fi. This means that there must be at least one Wi-Fi network
to connect the 433 MHz and an IP connection to the Z-Way™ system (not necessarily Wi-Fi but cable Ethernet is
possible too if there is a router between the cabled ethernet and the Wi-Fi).

meaning i need to get a gateway.
so instead of writing on the homepage that zwave.me supports 433MHz maybe its better to think this over.




:?: How to get a file or log that will log every sensor ones in an hour?
The sensor logging app is for online usage,
and the history app is only for 24hs.

is it so that razberry is designed that you cannot log the values without using a online server? I used the Notifications2Storrage app but this is just a clutter of info and very difficult to read:
"message":{"dev":"Aeotec Temperature (#3)","l":"25.5 °C","location":""},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544108747057,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:05:47.057Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Aeotec Temperature (#3)","l":"25.4 °C","location":""},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544108781661,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:06:21.661Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Aeotec Temperature (#3)","l":"25.5 °C","location":""},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544109023913,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:10:23.913Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Aeotec Temperature (#3)","l":"25.4 °C","location":""},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544109058527,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:10:58.527Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Aeotec Temperature (#3)","l":"25.5 °C","location":""},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544109127790,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:12:07.790Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Aeotec Temperature (#3)","l":"25.4 °C","location":""},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544109162351,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:12:42.351Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Aeotec Temperature (#3)","l":"25.5 °C","location":""},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544109162951,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:12:42.951Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Temperature","l":"27 °C","location":1},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_2-0-49-1","redeemed":false},{"id":1544109509026,"timestamp":"2018-12-06T15:18:29.026Z","level":"device-info","message":{"dev":"Temperature","l":"26.9 °C","location":1},"type":"device-temperature","source":"ZWayVDev_zway_2-0-49-1","redeemed":false},

3:
who are active members? can we start a discord group to make some startup documentation together?

Please, i really hope somebody can help me and other newcomers.

The learning curve is too steep at the moment.


The main reason for me to have the home automation is to look into temperature vs electricity usage. but the logging features of the z-way have been a big disappointment for me.
I really hope that after writing the this post, somebody could also help me.

Have a nice weekend and kind regards, from Finland.

enbemokel
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Aug 2016 17:36

Re: helpful tips.

Post by enbemokel » 10 Dec 2018 14:52

Hi, you did a lot of helpful work and your ideas to support and these forum are right.
I´m using the z-way system in 2 locations and overall it works out of the box with the different apps.

If z-way would provide some more technical help in this forum and answer questions then it would be a
real good system. Only Polto answering from time to time is not enough.
Thanks

Dajazzz
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Dec 2017 15:47

Re: helpful tips.

Post by Dajazzz » 10 Dec 2018 16:19

Im afraid that its far easier for people to purchase a Z-wave stick, put it in to the RPI3 and download Openhab zip file. As there is a lot of support and guides on how to make it work.
There is a binding for z-way but this is by far not as good as via a Z-wave binding.

If we would make some better starters instructions, like quick guides, it would be so much better.
But like said, currently i do not see any benefit of having z-way in a RPI3 instead of zwave with openhab.

see this guide for example:
https://www.openhab.org/docs/installation/rasppi.html

or youtube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2T5Mg3RLq0

This is far more user friendly and costs the same.
enbemokel wrote:
10 Dec 2018 14:52
Hi, you did a lot of helpful work and your ideas to support and these forum are right.
I´m using the z-way system in 2 locations and overall it works out of the box with the different apps.

If z-way would provide some more technical help in this forum and answer questions then it would be a
real good system. Only Polto answering from time to time is not enough.
Thanks
and what if Polto is unavailble,, does it mean that people with Z-way homes are without automation?

Correct me if im wrong....

enbemokel
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Aug 2016 17:36

Re: helpful tips.

Post by enbemokel » 12 Dec 2018 11:47

No, I fully agree with you. When I started OpenHab wasn´t ready, so I used z-way.
Z-wave Team is sleeping since the beginning, web pages are very old, documentation is outdated....
I assume that also the app programmers stopped working as there is no Response. very bad.

Dajazzz
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Dec 2017 15:47

Re: helpful tips.

Post by Dajazzz » 13 Dec 2018 18:34

Good news for everybody with a zway add on board.
Its actually very easy to get full support of OPENHABIAN.

Just install openhabian, and enable all 3 serial ports in the openhabian-config ( USE SPACE BAR TO SELECT ALL 3!). Then add the Z-WAVE binding in openhab, select ttyAMA0 as serial port. TADAAA full zwave possibilities and you can make the dashboards to your liking.

I think this will be my last post here as i now am convinced that there is no reason to play with this buggy z-wave.me anymore
At least i tried to share my problems.

But i did buy the Aeontec gen 5 stick, so i can actually just take the stick out and include more zwave devices much easier.


Dajazzz, over and out :)

Post Reply